Skip to content

Manipal: First Impressions

August 9, 2009

I am writing this post in a hurry, for the fear of the internet being shut down before I manage to complete it. Anyway, here goes.

I got here to Manipal exactly two weeks ago. I was told by my brother and a few of his friends that staying in the hostel made a lot of sense and so I complied. My brother and I moved in together to a double room in Xth block. The problem being that we had to do with common toilets in this block, but well, I was told it was not so bad. So here I come on the 26th of July, to do my MS in Communication, staying in Block X of the MIT hostels.

It all seemed fine for the first couple of days. The food in the mess seemed pretty fine. I got paneer on a daily basis and so I thought it was not a bad deal at all. I wondered why my brother, like many others, chose to eat out every once in a while. The first day of college was pretty okay. The orientation program was boring, but I was looking forward to meeting all the teachers, to be able to discuss about every subject, in order to be able to pick my electives.

So I finally decided to drop Media in Security and Terrorism and also Photography, apart from other boring subjects like Business Media and Media Laws and Ethics. I decided to attend all classes on Photography and Security and Terrorism anyway. But let me not bore you people with academics an stuff. So yeah, my bike arrived here almost a week after I got here. In the meanwhile, we had an “interaction session” with the seniors which some anonymous classmates of mine screwed up by tipping off the staff about. A pity indeed, because it was fun(and also because I was the first one to “introduce” myself, and just a few others had their turn before the session was called off owing to the complaint). So anyway, we had a good time getting to know each other, and I am glad that I had to go first, in a way.

By the end of the first week I was down with a bad flu. About 60% of my class was down with a flu by then, actually, and not everyone was as unlucky as I was. My brother actually bunked classes(a very convenient excuse?) and took care of me. Actually, I couldn’t have done without his help. So anyway, by the time I recovered fully, two major events took place. The first being that my bike got confiscated by the security section. I will not bitch about it just yet, because I would like to have my bike back sometime in the near future, and don’t want to screw my chances.

The second major happening(for me) was that I got elected to be the class representative. It might sound like a small and kidding thing, but it sure does mean a lot to me. I take this as a really good start to my 2-year term here, in MIC. I am also hoping that I get my bike back sometime soon. It might sound unreasonable when they ask you to pay Rs 1000 to have your own bike back, under the condition that you leave the hostel with the bike or send the bike back to your hometown, but those are the rules that the place has. And yes, I will have to try and comply with them.

We had a second “interaction session” with our seniors by the end of the second week in college. This time, they were considerate enough to let me go last. But I still had to do the catwalk and walk the ramp to “prove my modelling experiences.” I did not complain, though. Somehow, I think I managed pretty okay. But I will not forgive Faizan for recording the whole thing and putting it up on YouTube. The link to the video will NOT be disclosed on my blog. So no point asking me! πŸ˜› And Faizan, I will get back at you soon. You wait and watch! Hehe! Just kidding! Actually not, but still. πŸ˜€

I now hardly ever eat the the mess, because somehow, I just can’t get myself to eat there anymore. I mean, it is not that the food is bad or anything. I guess I just lost my appetite for good, ever since I was down with flu. Need to work on it if I need to continue with gym and football at the same time. Talking of which, I was forced to attend the football “tryouts” by a couple of my classmates. Sadly for me, it went pretty well and I am more or less in the team. I quit football over a year ago because my gym trainer asked me to. It is only after that that I managed to put on some mass. With my new diet(the lack of it, rather), clubbed with football, my gym trainer back in Chennai is not going to be happy at all.

But anyway, life must go on. The past two weeks have been pretty crazy. Some good things, and some not-so-nice things. But on the whole, I guess all this was not totally unexpected. Barring a few things, that is. But yes, one thing is certain, I am getting to see a lot of new things on a daily basis, and I sure as hell am not complaining. All this is loads of fun. So what if I have a lousy internet connection which does not let me do half of what I would like to do? I can always get a private connection, right? So what if my bike got confiscated? I can always try getting it back, right? And so what if the hostel seems to be a pain at times? I can always move out of the hostel whenever I want to, if things come down to that, right?

So yes, life does go on. And I am loving every bit of this! πŸ™‚

8 Comments leave one →
  1. hiccupsi permalink
    August 10, 2009 4:55 AM

    ‘-) atleast if we dont get to chat i can see what ur up to on here…..

    btw.. i want that link for youtube.. u know i was going to ask so hush lol

    x

    Adi: Oh well, we WILL catch up on chat or something sometime soon. The email conversations are going good, I guess. πŸ™‚ Anyway, that apart, I knew that you would ask me for the link anyway. Just sucks that you found it out yourself. NOT good! This is SO bad! I should have never spoken about it in the first place. I SAK!

  2. hiccupsi permalink
    August 10, 2009 5:24 AM

    omg i found it lol

    Adi: NNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

  3. August 10, 2009 4:20 PM

    Make a photo post next! Cheers!
    Adi: Tried taking your advice. Did everything possible to find decent pictures. But this lousy net connection screwed it all. Have to find ways to fix it.

  4. August 10, 2009 8:36 PM

    Seriously man. too long. summarize it and write another blog. i’m too lazy to read this.

    Adi: You SAK, you prick! Go read all of it. You kn ow you want to! :-p

  5. August 11, 2009 12:28 PM

    Nop. Never did, and never will. =D

    Adi: Okay, admit it, dick. How many times have you read it already? πŸ˜›

  6. Amritha permalink
    August 11, 2009 5:49 PM

    poor u adi. i pity u for the flu. but the flu does seem to have some bizzare effect. the food showed its effect, u dint tell anything much, neither for the bike nor for the other things…and this is such a short post (considering ur standards:) ) hmm something IS wrong πŸ˜›

    Adi: Oh well, like I already told you, there is nothing really wrong with me per se. But I guess I am not being my usual self. Or at least, my posts are not quite the same as what they once were. Maybe it is the long break that screwed things for me. Need to start working on it once again.

  7. August 12, 2009 11:42 AM

    hahahaha!! I found the video toooo! Priceless πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Hey, atleast I got to see you via the video!

    ❀ Vidya

    Adi: OMG! YOU found it?! NOOOOOOO! If you really wanted to see me, you could have told me. I would have found you better stuff. NOT that! Faizan is SO dead!

  8. Nandhini permalink
    August 12, 2009 10:06 PM

    I want to see that video too! Adi! Gimme the LINK!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

